The History of the ICC Cricket World Cup

For sports bettors and Cricket fans, the ICC Cricket World Cup is the most significant championship event on the sporting calendar. This year, the 2019 World Cup will be hosted by England and Wales, and it kicks off on the 30th of May. Consisting of just 10 teams, this year’s Cup will be one of the most exciting to date, as every team has the credentials and talent to win.

The World Cup is a One Day International (ODI) event that first took place back in 1975. This was just 4 years after the very first ODI was played. Before this, only test matches were played between international teams. The first 3 World Cups were hosted by England Cricket, and held in the UK. It was only in 1987 when the decision was made to rotate the hosting of the tournament between the different test playing nations. The fourth tournament, which took place in 1987, was hosted jointly by India and Pakistan.

Cricket World Cup Winners

To date there have been 11 World Cup tournaments, of which Australia have won 5. The first 2 Cups were won by the West Indies, before India claimed their first title in 1983. India would then go on to win their second title more than 35 years later, in 2011. Australia picked up their first win in 1978, while Pakistan won their first and only title back in 1992.

If want to get in on the online sports betting action, it is worth noting that the only other team to win a title is Sri Lanka, so you may want to consider this cricinfo when wagering.

Notable Facts

  • The first World Cup was played in 1975
  • Australia is the most successful team in the World Cup
  • England have been runners up 3 times but never won a title
  • South Africa was banned prior to 1992 because of apartheid
  • South Africa has never progressed past the semi-finals
  • New Zealand featured in the finals once, but lost to Australia
  • This will be the second time Afghanistan is in the World Cup
  • This year there will only be 10 teams competing to make the games more challenging

History of the ICC Champions Trophy

If you are interested in live Cricket betting, you may be wondering what happened to the ICC Champions Trophy. Next to the World Cup, it was one of the best tournaments in the world. The ICC Champions Trophy was first played in 1998 as an international ODI Tournament for all ICC nations, including non-test playing teams. It was originally known as the ICC Knockout tournament and was designed to develop ODI Cricket on an international level. The tournament has a simple Round Robin knockout format where teams were placed into pools and the winners of each pool would progress to the finals. For now however, the ICC Champions Trophy is on hold, as it has been replaced by 2 T20 tournaments instead.

ICC Champions Trophy Facts

  • The first event was played in 1998 and the last in 2017
  • England Cricket has hosted the event but never won
  • Australia have officially won the most Champion trophies titles
  • In 2002, there was no winner, so India and Sri Land shared winners’ rights
  • The tournament was scrapped in favour of two T20 events for 2020 and 2021

More About The Cricket World Cup

The upcoming ICC Cricket World Cup will be held as a single pool Round Robin event with just 10 teams. The action is sure to be fast paced and exciting to watch, as the teams are very evenly matched.

If you love Cricket, this is your chance to win big with online sports betting, and there will be plenty of live Cricket bets available over the course of the tournament too. If you want to know more about the teams, players, the tournament and other essential cricinfo, check out our upcoming Guide To Everything You Need To Know.