ICC Rankings and the 2019 Cricket World Cup

The 2019 Cricket World Cup is just around the corner. For online sports betting fans the tournament is the ideal opportunity to get in on the action. The first step in placing a successful wager is finding out the current performance statistics of the players and the teams. The best measurement we have for this is the official ICC rankings. Being that the Cricket World Cup is a One Day International (ODI) tournament event, checking the ODI rankings is best.

How ICC Rankings are Determined

The International Cricket Council (ICC) ranks teams and players by giving them points calculated by a sophisticated algorithm based on their performance in a match. Every time a team plays an ODI match, they will receive points that are divided by their total number of matches played. For teams, factors that influence their ranking include the total number of runs scored, the total number of wickets taking and if they won or lost the match.

It is important to note that no human intervention is used when calculating these points and Cricket scores. The match scorecard is simply entered into the system, and the results are automatically calculated.

For batsman, the factors influencing their ranking include the total number of runs scored, the rating of the bowling attack against the batsman, the level of run scoring, if the batsman was out or not, and if the team won the match. Both batsman and bowlers are ranked on a scale from 1 to 1000 with the top batsman having a score close to the upper limit.

For bowlers the factors influencing their ranking include the total number of wickets taken in the match, the ranking of the batting attack, the bowling economy figures and the workload of the bowler (how many overs bowled). Finally, the bowler will receive more points if the team wins.

Team Rankings

The official ICC ODI World Rankings for the Teams playing in the 2019 Cricket World Cup are as follows:

  1. England                123 points
  2. India                      121 points
  3. South Africa        115 points
  4. New Zealand      113 points
  5. Australia              109 points
  6. Pakistan               95 points            
  7. Bangladesh         89 points
  8. West Indies        79 points
  9. Sri Lanka              76 points
  10. Afghanistan        64 points


The ODI Rankings for Batsman playing are as follows:

  1. Virat Kohli                         890      
  2.  Rohit Sharma                  839       
  3. Ross Taylor                      830       
  4. Quinton de Kock              803       
  5. Faf du Plessis                  801       
  6. Joe Root                          791       
  7. Babar Azam                     781       
  8. Martin Guptill                    750       
  9. Aaron Finch                      744       
  10. Shai Hope                         744

In the above rankings, Aaron Finch and Shai Hope are actually both ranked officially at number 9, as they share the same ODI rankings score.


The ICC top 10 ranked ODI Bowlers are:

  1. Jasprit Bumrah                774       
  2. Trent Boult                       759       
  3. Rashid Khan                    747       
  4. Imran Tahir                      703       
  5. Kagiso Rabada               701       
  6. Pat Cummins                  694       
  7. Kuldeep Yadav                689       
  8. Yuzvendra Chahal           680       
  9. Mujeeb Ur Rahman         678       
  10. Adil Rashid                      672       

Using the Information Correctly

The ICC ODI rankings should act as a guide for the basis of any online sports betting prediction. However, if there are slight changes to a match, it may be worth checking alternate rankings and previous Cricket scores for new information. For example, if a match is delayed due to rain and eventually reduced to half the overs, it is more likely that a team with a higher T20 ranking will perform better in the situation.

If you want to extend your research further, check out our page on past winners and predictions for this year’s Cricket World Cup.