Cricket World Cup Past Winners & Our Predictions for 2019

With the Cricket World Cup just around the corner, punters are brushing up on their knowledge and finalising their online sports betting options. Research has shown that past winners have a greater chance of performing well in a World Cup, even if their recent performances have been sub-par in the months leading up to the event. This is also true of teams that usually perform well, but fails in a World Cup format. If you are yet to finalise your bets, here are our predictions and a look at past winners to help you make a decision which way to wager.

Past Winners

The 2019 Cricket World Cup will be the 12th edition of the prestigious event. Since the inaugural event in 1975, just five teams have lifted the trophy. Australia is the most successful team in history, winning 5 out of the 12 tournaments. They lifted the trophy for the first time in 1987, then again in 1999, 2003, 2007, and most recently in 2015.

The West Indies and India both have two wins to their name. The West Indies won the first ever World Cup in 1975 and then again in 1979. Since 1983 through, they have failed to even reach the final. India won in 1983, then again in 2011. They have also only been runners up once. Pakistan are the only other team to lift the trophy, which they did back in 1992. 

Notable Past Players

Since 1992, the Cricket World Cup has handed out an award for Man of the Tournament. This award goes to the bowler or batsman with the most impressive figures, the highest batting average or the best fielding performance. In 1992, the award was handed to Martin Crowe from Australia for racking up 456 runs in the tournament. Glen McGrath also won in 2007 for taking 26 wickets, while his teammate Mitchell Starc won in 2015 taking 22 wickets. Other winners include Sanath Jayasuriya, Lance Klusener, Sachin Tendulkar and Yuvraj Singh.

Predictions for Best Player

Since the majority of the above players will not be playing in the 2019 Cricket World Cup, we have to look at current figures, Cricket scores and performances at the most recent Cups. Mitchel Starc is someone who stands out for his bowling in past tournaments and over the past 12 months. He will certainly be someone to watch. In the batting line-up, Chris Gayle is a man with a record of his own when he jointly created the highest partnership in 2015. He is the West Indies secret weapon, and can demolish a bowling attack when he has his eye in. Other notable batsmen include Eoin Morgan, MS Dhoni and Faf du Plessis.

Team Predictions

While England has never won a Cricket World Cup, they have been runners up three times. It is important to note that some of their best performances were at a time when they hosted the event. Since they will be hosting again, their performance should be boosted. England is also the number 1 ranked team according to the latest ICC ODI rankings. Their One Day International performances have been outstanding over the past 12 months, which is why they are the current online sports betting favourites.

India is second on the ICC rankings and have hoisted the trophy twice before. They have a strong team this year, and will certainly be hard to beat. While Australia is ranked fifth in the world, below South Africa and New Zealand, they are masters of the Cricket World Cup and should never be discounted; they tend to perform best when they are under pressure.

If you’re ready to enjoy a bit of online sport betting but not sure where to sign up, check out our top recommended bookmakers for the World Cup fixtures.