2019 Cricket World Cup Tournament Breakdown

The 12th edition of the Cricket World Cup is due to take place in England and Wales, from 30 May to 14 July 2019. Watching the best One Day International stars perform is always satisfying, and if you're wagering on the Cricket scores and results it's even more enjoyable. You'll find all the information you need to make good online sports betting decisions right here.

Tournament Structure

Before 2019, all test-playing nations who were members of the International Cricket Council, or ICC, would be granted automatic entry into the Cup. Other teams would need to qualify through a series of preliminary events.

However, plans for the format to change have been on the cards for a while, and this year only 8 teams are guaranteed qualification, rather than 10. This includes England, as the host, along with the other 7 sides that were highest in the ICC One Day International rankings on 30 September 2017.

The remaining 2 spots were decided with the 2018 Cricket World Cup Qualifier, meaning a total of 10 teams will be contesting the title instead of 14 as in previous years. The idea here is to make the competition stiffer and more exciting by eliminating smaller sides and having only the top squads go head-to-head. The final names of all enlisted players must be submitted by 23 April 2019.

Each of the 10 teams will compete against the other 9 once in the Group Stage, and the top 4 squads will progress to the Knockout Stage, which consists of two Semi-Finals and the Final. In the Semi-Finals the First and Fourth Qualifiers will play against each other, and the Second and Third Qualifiers will face off. The Final will, of course, be between the winners of the Semis.

Opening Matches

The 10 participating sides are England, Australia, Bangladesh, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and the two Cricket World Cup Qualifier winners Afghanistan and the West Indies. In the Round Robin-format Group Stage, matches will be played at various grounds across England and Wales.

The opening game, between England and South Africa, will be held at The Kia Oval, home of the Surrey County Cricket Club, in the London Borough of Lambeth. A massive opening party will be held on 29 May at the Mall in front of Buckingham Palace. The 4000 available tickets are free, and can be applied for via public ballot – if you're in the area, it promises to be a night to remember!

What Pitches are Being Used?

In addition to The Oval, and Lord's Cricket Grounds in London where the final will be held, the pitches to be used include Trent Bridge in Nottingham, Cardiff's Sophia Garden, County Grounds in Bristol and Taunton, Rose Bowl in Southampton and Manchester's Old Trafford.

Matches are also scheduled for Edgbaston in Birmingham, Headingley in Leeds and the Emirates Riverside Ground in Chester-le-Street. The Semi-Finals will be at Old Trafford and Edgbaston. Each venue is home to illustrious teams, and has seen truly memorable Cricket World Cup moments in the past.

Tournament Standings

Although we don't know any of the tournament Cricket scores yet, the current standings for the 10 competing sides are as follows, from 1st to 10th:

  • New Zealand
  • India
  • West Indies
  • England
  • South Africa
  • Australia
  • Pakistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Sri Lanka
  • Afghanistan


Win Your Cricket World Cup Bets

We've got all the details you need to place the most successful wagers on the World Cup. Now that you know more about its structure, check out our information on the teams and our up to date odds, online sports betting tips and tricks to help you maximise your wins!