Champions League Draw

Jake Cooper | 12 Oct 2016

The UEFA Champions League draw has just been made. Which teams will have to face each other in the first stages of the fight for the biggest title in club football?

There are 32 teams competing for the title and they are drawn from four pots into eight groups of four teams. The pots were established on a seeding basis and no team from the same country will face each other at the first stage of the contest.

The England has four clubs competing this year: Chelsea, Manchester City, Liverpool (for the first time in five years) and Arsenal, who reached the group stages having won the second leg of their qualifier against Besiktas just last night.

Interestingly, although not unexpectedly, only two sides of the 32 in the draw have no Champions League experience – Ludogorets Razgrad and Malmo.

UEFA Champions League 2014 Draw:

Group A: Atletico Madrid, Juventus, Olympiacos, Malmo FF

Group B: Real Madrid, Basel, LIVERPOOL, Ludogorets Razgrad

Group C: Benfica, Zenit Saint Petersburg, Bayer Leverkusen, Monaco

Group D: ARSENAL, Borussia Dortmund, Galatasaray, Anderlecht

Group E: >Bayern Munich, MANCHESTER CITY, CSKA Moscow, Roma

Group F: Barcelona, PSG, Ajax, APOEL

Group G: CHELSEA, Schalke 04, Sporting Lisbon, Maribor

Group H: Porto, Shakhtar Donetsk, Athletic Bilbao, BATE Borisov

There’ll be much speculation over the next few months as to who got the better draw, particularly as the 2014/2015 season gets underway.

Keep checking back for Champions League updates as the season unfolds.