LoL Review

League of Legends, often simply referred to as LoL, is one of the most popular online video games in the world. The characters are complex, and the more you play, the more intriguing the action becomes. Learning about it can be a little confusing and overwhelming at first, which is why we've put together this beginner's guide for you.

A Multiplayer Online Battle

League of Legends is classified as a Multiplayer Online Battle Arena, or MOBA. You might also see it referred to as a Real Time Strategy or Action Real Time Strategy, abbreviated to RTS or ARTS, game. This means that there are many gamers playing online, battling against each other in teams of 5.

The Battle Arena, where all the action is going down, is static – meaning it is the same every time, and not generated at random. Participants are familiar with it, and get better at navigating it over time. In the case of LoL eSports, the most popular arena is called Summoner's Rift.

Playing LoL

To take part in the game, you need to go to the official League of Legends website, create a player account and download the software. All players are known as Summoners, and your account has Summoner Levels. As you keep playing, you earn experience points. When you have enough, you level up and get more rewards. There's no cap on the levels, so you can just keep improving your LoL eSports performance and experience.

In each match, your team is working to destroy your opposition's base before they manage to destroy yours. Every time you play a new battle begins and you must choose a character from the list of 130 Champions, as they are known, to control and customise. When you log in to play you are usually placed with 4 other gamers at random. Everyone can decide on the roles they want independently and try to lock them down in a Blind Pick, or discuss it and work out who will be doing what together, in a Draft Pick.

With LoL, it is also possible to play with the teammates you choose in a Custom Game, although this will not award any experience points. Once players reach a Summoner Level of 30, they can join or form a Ranked Team. Members of the Ranked Team can then log in and fight together at any time.

Champions in LoL eSports

Every Champion has its own powers, characteristics and skills. They can all be described according to statistics. For example, Hit Points refer to how much damage a Champion can take before they die and Armour the amount of physical damage that can be done to them.

For every Armour Point, the Hit Points become 1% more effective against physical damage. So, if you have 100 Hit Points and 0 Armour, you will die by 100 physical damage. If you have 100 Armour you will be 100% more effective, and it will take 200 physical damage to kill you.

As you can probably see, understanding how the statistics work and relate to each other is crucial for developing an effective League of Legends strategy. This is true whether you are playing the game yourself, or betting on the results!

Play Now