The 2018 Belgian Grand Prix

Jake Cooper - 16 Jul 2018

Formula One is considered to be the pinnacle of world motor sport and one of the largest online betting markets in the world. For those who are new to the sport, the Formula One Championships is an annual Championship motor sport contest consisting of 21 Grand Prix races held at locations around the globe.

10 teams enter the championships with 2 drivers per team. This year, the teams/constructors include:

  • Ferrari
  • Mercedes
  • Renault
  • Red Bull Racing-TAG Heuer
  • Sauber-Ferrari
  • McLaren-Renault
  • Force India-Mercedes
  • Haas-Ferrari
  • Scuderia Toro Rosso-Honda
  • Williams-Mercedes

Kicking off in March each year, the Championship sees each team participate in around 21 races (this number can fluctuate from year to year). There are two main Championship trophies up for grabs. The first is the Drivers Championship which goes to the driver with the most points at the end of the season. The second is the Constructors Championships, which goes to the Constructor with the most points.

Each Grand Prix offers up points to the top 10 finishers in the race. The driver who wins get the maximum of 25 points while 10th place gets a single point. In 2018, the Championship got underway with the Australian race on the 25th of March. Lewis Hamilton started in Pole Position but it was his rival Sebastian Vettel who won the race, taking the first points of the season.

The Belgium Track

Coming up on the 26th of August is the 13th race of the season, in the form of the Belgian Grand Prix. While its position in the calendar may not be auspicious, the race itself is certainly a highlight for both fans and drivers. Held at the Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps in Stavelot, Belgium, the track is uniquely designed with sharp corners and long straight sections. The track is also notorious for its unpredictable weather where some sections are completely clear while others are filled with driving rain.

The weather plays such an important role that at one point in its history, it rained in 20 consecutive Belgian Grand Prix races. This unpredictability means that drivers and constructors must take risks on the number of stops taken and the types of tires used.

2017 Results and Betting Options for 2018

Last year, Sebastian Vettel went into the Belgian Grand Prix with a 14-point lead over Lewis Hamilton. However, it was Hamilton who took pole position in the qualifiers. He eventually went on to win the race and close the gap on his rival. This year, the results tell a familiar story. Vettel is currently in top position on 171 points while Hamilton is just 8 points behind him on 163.

For anyone interested in betting on the Belgium Grand Prix, the most popular wager is the race winner bet. This simply involves predicting which driver will win the race. There are plenty of exciting prop bets available as well, including predicting the top 5 finishers, if the safety car will be needed, which driver will not complete the race and who will set the fastest lap. If you love F1 and want to place a wager why not do so right now at Spin Palace Sports, William Hill or StanJames? uses cookies to give the best experience possible. Please read our Cookie Policy for more details