2018 Ladbrokes Snooker World Grand Prix

Jake Cooper - 30 Jan 2018

Snooker may be considered a niche sport, but it does have a considerably large fan base spanning from New Zealand to the UK, the US to Africa and just about every country in between. A major snooker tournament can attract thousands of visitors and millions of viewers eager to catch the action as it unfolds. Snooker is also one of the more prominent betting sports, with punters betting on every frame.

In the world of professional snooker, the World Grand Prix is one of the most anticipated events of the year. This year, the 2018 Ladbrokes World Grand Prix kicks off on the 19th of February at the Guild Hall in Preston, England. The Grand Prix will be the 15th official snooker-ranking event of the 2017/2018 snooker season and is guaranteed to be a thrilling competition with the best players from around the world taking part.

The Competition Format

The snooker World Grand Prix is a fairly new event, having first been held in 2015 in the town of Llandudno in North Wales. The first ever Grand Prix was a non-ranking event in which Judd Trump beat Ronnie O’Sullivan in the final 10-7. By 2016, the World Grand Prix had been elevated to the status of a ranking event, attracting a higher quality of player and better media coverage.

The 2018 World Grand Prix will be held over a period of six days from the 19th to the 25th of February. 32 players qualify for the event with the current world champion gaining automatic entry, similar to the World Champs. The top 32 are ranked on a one-year ranking list which began at the 2017 Riga Masters and will end at the 2018 Snooker Shoot-Out in early February. The total prize money for the 2018 event is £375 000 of which the winner receives £100 000. The runner up receives £40 000 while the semi-finalists receive £20 000 each. 

Where to Bet Online

The competition format for the World Grand Prix is fairly straight forward. The 32 players are put into a draw and pared up for the first round. The winners of the first round move on to the second round while the losers are eliminated. This continues through to the quarter finals, the semi-finals and then the main event - the final.

Since the ranking year has not officially ended, the 32 spots are still up for grabs. The only player to have confirmed his place is the reigning world champ Ronnie O’Sullivan, with an unpassable point lead.

If you are keen on catching the action or placing a bet online, you can find everything you need at these fine betting sites: William Hill, Titan Bet, Betway Sports and Paddy Power.

Topbettingsites.com uses cookies to give the best experience possible. Please read our Cookie Policy for more details