The 2018 Rugby Championships

Jake Cooper - 16 Jul 2018

Union Rugby is an action-packed team sport and one that dominates the online betting sites. While there are a number of international rugby tournaments taking place throughout the year, the Rugby Championships are certainly one of the most exciting. Dating back to 1996, the tournament was originally known as the Tri Nations as it was contested between Australia, New Zealand and South Africa.

The Early Days of the Tri Nations

The All Blacks, New Zealand’s national team, won the inaugural Tri Nation’s tournament. They went on to win again in 1997 and dominated the tournament, winning 10 titles compared to South Africa  and Australia’s 3 each. In 2012, the tournament got a complete overhaul with the inclusion of the Argentinians. The Tri Nation name fell away and the tournament became known as the Rugby Championships.

The Tournament Format

In its new and current format, New Zealand has won all but 1 of the titles. The All Blacks have stamped their dominance on the sport and are ranked as number 1 in the world. The original Tri Nations tournament was played as a simple home and away format with the 3 teams playing each other once at home and once away. With the inclusion of a fourth team, the format remained the same as a double round-robin. Currently, each team plays a total of 6 games, facing each opponent on home turf once and then once then away. Points are awarded for a draw and a win with bonus points given for a team that scored more than 3 tries in a match.

2017 Results

Last year, Argentina failed to win a single game, ending up at the bottom of the log with 0 points. South Africa placed third winning 2 games, drawing 2 games and losing 2 games. Australia placed second also winning 2 games, drawing 2 and losing 2. However, they scored more bonus points than South Africa to claim 2nd spot. New Zealand continued their dominance over the tournament winning all six games and claiming the maximum number of points.

The 2018 Tournament

The 2018 Rugby Championships will kick off on the 18th of August and run to the 6th of October. The tournament provides plenty of opportunities for online bettors. While the tournament is in-play, bets can be placed on any one of the 24 matches. Punters can also choose to place outright bets on the tournament winner. Within each match, there are also a number of prop bets that can be placed. This includes half time betting, first team to score a try, predicting the point score, first player to score and the total winning margin. Want to put some money down? You’ll find great odds at 888, Bet365, and Sky Bet. uses cookies to give the best experience possible. Please read our Cookie Policy for more details