The 2018 Super Rugby Final

Jake Cooper - 16 Jul 2018

Union rugby is one of the most popular betting sports anywhere in the world. As a full-contact sport, it offers high-intensity action, drama and the perfect opportunity to place a wager on the outcome. While there are plenty of tournaments taking place throughout the year, Super Rugby is certainly one of the biggest and most popular.

First played in 1996, Super Rugby started out as a competition between 12 teams from Australia, New Zealand and South Africa. By 2011, it had grown to 15 teams and in 2016; the tournament underwent a major shift with the inclusion of teams from Japan and Argentina. The 15 teams are divided into 3 geographical conferences; the Australian, New Zealand and African.

About the Tournament

The annual tournament officially kicks off in March each year and culminates in the final, which is played in August. The group stages of the competition consist of 18 rounds. Each team plays a total of 16 games with 2 bye rounds. The teams play 8 inter-conference matches as well as 8 cross-conference matches. In their home conference, they play one game at home and one away. They also play one game against each of the four teams in the other two conferences.

The teams that win their matches are awarded points for a win as well as bonus points for scoring more than 3 tries in the match. At the end of the group stages, the top-3 teams from each conference automatically qualify for the semi-finals. Joining them are the teams with the next highest overall points. The 8 teams then compete in 4 games to determine the 4 that go through to the semi-finals and the winner’s progress to the finals.

What Happened in 2017?

Last year, the 4 teams that went through to the semi-finals were the Chiefs, the Crusaders, the Lions and the Hurricanes. The Crusaders defeated the Chiefs, and the Lions defeated the Hurricanes. In the final, the Crusaders won the tournament convincingly, defeating the Lions by 25 points to 17.

This year, we are one week away from the end of the group stages and there are some familiar faces at the top of the log. The Lions lead the African Conference, the Crusaders lead the New Zealand Conference and the Waratahs lead the Australian Conference. Joining them in the quarterfinals will be the Hurricanes, the Chiefs and the Highlanders from New Zealand as well as the Jaguars from Argentina and the Rebels from Australia.

The Final

The 2018 Super Rugby Final will be played on the 4th of August. For online betting purposes, outright bets can be placed on the outcome. It is also possible to place prop bets such as the first team to score a try, half time bets, first player to score, total number of tries in the game and total number of points and a whole lot of other potentially lucrative wagers. If you want to get in on the action, we suggest you head on over to leading sportsbooks like William Hill, Betway and TitanBet and put your money down! uses cookies to give the best experience possible. Please read our Cookie Policy for more details