2019 Six Nations Championship

Jake Cooper - 21 Jan 2019

While there are many Rugby Union tournaments throughout the year, few are as prestigious and exciting as the Six Nations. Held annually, the Six Nations sees the very best Northern Hemisphere teams compete in an all-out battle for domination over their competitors. Each team plays each other once over the course of five rounds. This action-packed tournament is ideal for both spectators and online betting enthusiasts.

History and Details of the Championship

The history of the Six Nations dates back to 1883 when it was first played as the Home Nations Championship. At the time, only four teams competed including England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales. In 1910, France joined the tournament and it was renamed the Five Nations. Almost a century later, the tournament was extended to Six Nations when Italy was included.

The format of the tournament is very simple. Each team plays each other once with home ground advantage alternating every year. Prior to 2017, teams would earn 2 points for a win, 1 point for a draw and 0 points for a loss. This resulted in teams on even points and the sharing of titles. After the 2016 Championship, the committee introduced the bonus point system where teams would earn bonus points for scoring four or more tries in a match and losing by less than 7 points.

An additional trophy is given to any Home Nation team that defeats all three other Home Nations in the tournament. In 2018 Ireland achieved this feat and was awarded the Triple Crown. Any of the six teams that win every game is awarded the Grand Slam Trophy.

Dates for 2019

The 2019 Six Nations kicks off on the 1st of February 2019 and will conclude on the 16th of March. Round 1 will be played on the 1st and 2nd of February with three matches played on the day. Round two will be played on the 9th and 10th with another 3 matches taking place. Round 3 will be played on the 23rd and 24th of February while round 4 gets going on the 4th of March to the 5th. The final round will be played on the 15th of March.

Where to Bet

Betting on the Six Nations can be fun and rewarding with plenty of match and tournament bets available. Outright wagers can be placed on the team to win the Championship. Bets can also be placed on if a team will win the Grand Slam or Triple Crown. Each game also offers a full selection of match markets. To find out more, check out top sites like Bodog, William Hill, Sports Betting, Betway Sports, 888 Sport and Spin Palace Sports.

Topbettingsites.com uses cookies to give the best experience possible. Please read our Cookie Policy for more details