2019 Indian Premier League

Jake Cooper - 19 Feb 2019

While there are many cricket leagues and tournaments on the sporting calendar, the Indian Premier League (IPL) is the largest and most exciting of them all. Played each year in April and May, the T20 Tournament is an extravaganza of big-hitting entertainment with some of the best players in the world slogging it out on the pitches in India. Since its inception in 2008, it has become one of the most watched cricket leagues in the world, and a major source of betting action for punters around the globe.

What is the IPL?

The Indian Premier League was the brainchild of Lalit Modi who wanted a franchise-based Twenty20 cricket league where teams could buy, transfer and sign new players with a capped budget. Four years after launching, the IPL had become the most attended cricket league in the world and the 6th largest in any sport. The average attendance for each game runs into the hundreds of thousands, while millions of viewers catch the action via live stream or broadcast.

The structure of the IPL is quite simple. There are 8 teams that compete in the tournament with each team having a maximum of 8 international players in their squad. The starting 11 must have a maximum of 4 international players for each game. The tournament runs as a round robin for the initial stages where each team players each other once at home and once away. The teams with most points then compete in the playoffs with the winner being crowned the IPL champions.

Details for 2019

While the final details have not officially been set, the IPL is scheduled to be played from the 29th of March through to the 19th of May. Due to National elections in India, there are talks of hosting the tournament in the UAE as not to disrupt the electoral process. The full details of the tournament will be released in April. What we do know is that the teams went big at the auction buying the best players they could afford. The teams have had a major shake-up and now we can sit back and watch the action unfold.

Betting Options

The IPL provides plenty of betting opportunities for both novices and experienced punters. Outright bets can be placed on the team to be crowned Champions while match bets include match winner, over/under, handicap betting, total number of sixes, first player to hit a six, man of the match, bowler to get 5 wickets, batsman to score a century and the highest batting partnership. To place your bets, check out Spin Sports, William Hill and Betway Sports.

Topbettingsites.com uses cookies to give the best experience possible. Please read our Cookie Policy for more details