Las Vegas & Vancouver 7's

Jake Cooper - 26 Feb 2018

While union and league rugby dominate the betting sites, Rugby Sevens is fast becoming a popular spectator and betting sport. The HSBC Rugby World Sevens Series highlights the skill and drama that the shorter game involves. For anyone not familiar with the sport, rugby Sevens is played with similar rules to rugby union, except that there are only 7 players per side and each half is only 7 minutes long.

The result is an action-packed game filled with quick moves, carefully constructed tries and more running than you would normally see in a rugby match. The HSBC Rugby World Seven Series consists of 10 tournaments played in various cities around the world. 17 teams are competing in the current 2017/2018 tournament.

The HSBC World Seven Series

In the previous series, it was the South African 7’s team that claimed the trophy with a massive 192 points. England finished in second on 164, Fiji in third and New Zealand in fourth. The current season kicked off in Dubai, where South Africa continued their winning ways taking maximum points. When the series moved to Cape Town, New Zealand took top honours, while Argentina picked up second.

In Sydney, the Australians pulled off a home win, while South Africa grabbed another second place. The most recent tournament took place in Hamilton, New Zealand where Fiji took top honours while South Africa continued their consistent second placing.

What to Expect in Vegas?

As it stands, South Africa tops the points table with 77 points, while New Zealand sit 8 points adrift on 69. Fiji is in third spot, followed by Australia then Argentina who make up the top 5. The next stop for the World Sevens Series is Las Vegas. The action will kick off on the 2nd of March and run to the 4th of March. In 2017, South Africa took first place in Vegas while Fiji finished runners up. Bolstered by the home crowd, the USA took third.

The 3 Main Contenders for Vancouver

After Las Vegas, the action moves to Vancouver on the 10th and 11th of March. Last year, England came back in Vancouver to pick up their third win. South Africa took second while Fiji took third. According to what we have seen so far, it will be South Africa, Fiji and New Zealand competing for top honours in Las Vegas and Vancouver.

If you are keen to get in on the betting action, some of the best online betting sites include Titan Bet, William Hill, Paddy Power, Betway Sports, 888 Sports and Winner Sports. uses cookies to give the best experience possible. Please read our Cookie Policy for more details