The Australian Open Tennis Tournament

Jake Cooper - 08 Jan 2018

Tennis is one of the most exciting individual sports on the world stage. While there are plenty of local and international tournaments happening throughout the year, the Grand Slams are undoubtedly the highlight of the tennis calendar, and the Australian Open is one of the most anticipated.

Grand Slams bring together the world’s best players and provide punters with loads of betting opportunities. If you want to wager on this year’s Australian Open we recommend that you head on over to William Hill, Paddy Power or Betway Sports where you’ll find great odds for this event.

The History of the Australian Open

The Australian Open is the first of the four Grand Slams, taking place in the last two weeks of January each year.  Being the first of the major tournaments, the Australian open showcases the year’s talents and provides a good insight into how the top players are performing. The first Australian Open tournament took place in 1905 and was officially called the Australasian Championships. The name changed again in 1927 to the Australian Championships and in 1969 to the current name. Since 1905, the tournament has been held in multiple locations including Adelaide, Sydney, Christchurch and Brisbane.

It wasn’t until 1927 that the Australian Open was designated as a Major Championship by the ILTF. From 1928 onwards, the structure changed to include seeded players. Due to its geographical location the tournament attracted very few international players. Air travel was difficult at the time and it was expensive for players to travel. The first international contenders were the US Davis Cup team that made their debut in 1946.

Starting the Year off with a Bang

In 1972, the tournament migrated to its permanent home in Melbourne where it was known to attract the most spectators. Thanks to advancements in air travel and increasing popularity in the sport, the Australian Open has become one of the largest tennis tournaments in the world. It currently has the second highest attendants next to the US Open. It also has the honour of being the first tournament to introduce indoor play for bad weather.

The 2018 Australian Open

The 2018 Australian Open will kick off on Monday the 15th of January and run until Sunday the 28th of January. The tournament is an absolute hotbed for sports betting enthusiasts, providing plenty of betting opportunities on sets, matches or the tournament as a whole. Bets can be placed on outright winners in the men’s events, the women’s events, doubles or mixed doubles.

In 2017 Roger Federer defeated his arch rival Rafael Nadal to take the men’s title, while Serena Williams defeated her sister Venus to claim the woman’s title. 2018 could hold just as many exciting moments, and the great thing about the Australian Open is that you can place future bets on the tournament winner’s months in advance! uses cookies to give the best experience possible. Please read our Cookie Policy for more details